What are the best programs to be using as an ID student?

I am going on my junior year as an ID student and would like to know what are the best computer programs to be using. I already use photoshop, indesign, and illustrator. I began using cobalt v.6 my sophmore year but i’m still learning.

Any suggestions?

What does your school offer dealing with 3D modeling. Mine offered From-Z (The Art Institute of Pittsburgh). I really don’t see Form-Z on any requirements when jobs are posted. I typically see Alias, Solidworks, Rhino + PRO E. I would shoot for Alias Studio Tools or Solidworks.

You might also want to learn Flash to build a website. Or you could learn Dreamweaver, but Flash in my opinion is much cleaner and more impressive looking!

If you are interested in consumer/medical/industrial products design…

As a student if you can come out of school being very proficient at the following you make yourself much more employable.

As a recent graduate potential employers know that you are going to be a bit green when it comes to designing, form development etc. as you haven’t had much “real world practice”. Computer programs however are a different story. Laying out a presentation for a student project is the same as for a “real life” project. Same goes with renderings. Recent graduates are often much better at this than Sr. Level Designers as they are exposed to the newest software and the latest techniques while in school.

So…
To answer your question.

While in school become an expert in:

Photoshop (for sketching, presentation, etc)
Illustrator (Presentation, texture maps for renderings, 2D graphics on products)

A Solid Modeller (Solidworks is most common)

A Surface Modeller/ Renderer (Rhino is best)

Become a Google/search expert (seriously- this is an incredible advantage when doing research)