West Coast ID design schools, and europe

Hey I’m new to core77, but here’s my question: I am a 20yr-old sophomore in graphic design at the U here in Utah and I want to pursue product/industrial design (no programs in Utah). I like snow, mountains and the west coast, though I’m originally from Maine. So I must go elsewhere.

I can’t seem to find much info on western ID schools, the two that seem to come up(outside of California) are Western Washington and Emily Carr in British Columbia. Anyone graduate/have opinions on these two schools?

I am also considering Europe, but I am having a really hard time finding good information on undergrad programs in English, (again, product/ ID) any suggestions? Does it make sense to try and go to Europe for an undergrad, or maybe just for grad school?
(I’ve read through the forums a lot but have not found much actual information)

I have a pretty strong portfolio, though our foundation year program, and my own independent projects….

Any thoughts would be appreciated!
Thanks, KT

Welcome to Core
you’ve pretty much got the picture already, there’s simply a lot less ID than Graphics programs to choose from and EU is really tough. Both you listed are well respected, (I work with WW people)
U of Wash is re-starting thier program - still small though.

I’d suggest you not let access to snow dictate what school you choose…

mtnsaremyhome: you said you live in Utah? As far as I know there’s an ID program offered in Provo at Brigham Young. It looks like a very decent program… I’ve seen some students’ work from BYU on coroflot that impressed me.

http://saas.byu.edu/catalog/2008-2009ucat/departments/Technology/InDesMajor.php

Their tuition looks extremely affordable too… especially if you belong to the Church of Latter-Day Saints.