website / portfolio / teaser

In our portfolio class, we are encouraged to create a “teaser” to send to potential employers along with our resume and a cover letter. Printing individual envelopes, cover letters, resumes, and creating this teaser is very very time consuming, and it is hard to keep the craftsmanship consistent on everything without making a few of them.

To me, sending an email along with an attached pdf of my resume and link to a website is more practical and serves the same purpose. This is my first attempt at a website. i don’t know how to use flash, so i stumbled through just getting an html site up. I only put up 3 projects, because I felt like, if this is a “teaser” I didn’t want to reveal everything, because when I go to an interview I won’t have anything new to show. I’d really like some feedback, not only on the website, but more importantly …

1-Is it better to send hard copies of resumes and work samples through snail mail or does a simple email do the job?

2-Should I be worried about revealing ALL of my work on my website? Even though I wouldn’t have any new projects to show, I would still be able to go into more depth with the process of each.

Thanks.

Sending hard copies that all correlate to a specific “hire me/check out my stuff” theme lets them know you don’t mind trying a little harder. Everyone and their brother sends a form letter email and a pdf of samples. This sets you apart. It may take time, but in the end you will probably get more offers from the paper copy people, than with the ones who only got a PDF that took 1/2 a second to delete.

by the way… whats more important? Your work and resume? Or your ability to illustrate a face?

Seems to be a conflict with your statement of purpose…

your website is a joke!!!
let me remind you that a portfolio is to showcase your best work in order to get you a job.
however, in your case your case it seems you have no hope in hell in getting any positive replies.