Web Hosting.

Almost finished with making my portfolio with Freeway for the Mac. Not to crazy, no flash, bot the set up and pics look cool.
Does anyone have a pref for a web hoster, that is fare in price and reliable. I would like to have a web address that is not www.frank@#@Y@UEWUWQIWOPWQ.company name?

Thanks,

a ton out there. prices mostly all reasonable. i use a local place. that way i can call them if there’s a problem. supports a local business. only wish they supported php/Apache/mysql. ton of free stuff for those. when i switch my next host will be running those.

I have been using fatcow for 4 years. Every year the price stays the same but they offer more space and features. You do have to pay yearly (instead of monthly installments) but much cheaper in the long run:

I have my domain name registered with them too.

My website: www.lauren3g.com. It also includes 100 E-mail Accounts (you_put_what_you_ want_here@lauren3g.com) although I have only set up 1 account. I rarely use it.

Hi all thanks for the comments so far.

Since I’m new to the web game I designed the page using Freeway for mac, it’s easy and fast. I don’t know flash so it’s free of it, are these web hosters good for such a simple site.

What are some things I want to have in my site and what are some things I want in a web hoster and what are the things I do. Please explain the tech lingo for me.

thanks

You will have to be a bit more specific with your questions.

You can make a simple site without flash. The only flash on my site is the sound… and I don’t really need that. Any decent web host should be able to handle a simple site.

I don’t know what you need for your site. Its your design problem. This is a portfolio site… who is your audience? Do they need to contact you? These are some of the questions to ask. This will help you figure out what you need.

I use a company in California - www.aplus.net