Way to IIT MDes ???

Hi
I am from New Delhi, India.I received an education in Fashion design from NIFT(National Institute of Fashion Technology),New Delhi.Now for over 2 years , i have been gaining work experience in grahic design and visual communication,since i wanted to pursue my post graduate education in communication design.

This fall i applied to two schools , including DAAP and IIT,for Mdes. I was rejected at both though.

My GRE scores are 1350 ( 620v,730q) and TOEFL is 273.
While talking to people i was told that it was my portfolio that was not in line with the admission requirements.I had put in mainly work from graphics, packaging and layout design.

Now i am really keen on studying at IIT , as their direction seems very progressive. However i just dont want to apply again without knowledge of what it is that they are looking for in a portfolio , and who is considered a competent candidate.

Also , i hold a diploma , and not a degree , as in India , there is just one school that offers a degree in Design at Bachelors level,which has also started recently, ( i believe )

I wrote to professor John Grimes, but however got no reply from him. I am wondering if it makes sense to apply again , and what it is that i should include , or atleat how should i present my work , so that it shows the focus that the jury is looking for.I think improving on the essay also might help me,hough its the portfolio that is the major problem

Are there any people from IIT out there, whoc could help , or pitch in any info that will be relevant ? I have about three months on my hands , be fore sending the applications , but i want to be sure that its well worth the effort.
thanks