water vending machine design help!!

I don’t know if I post this topic in the right place but since you guys mostly hanging around here so…I’ve got some question

I’m doing my thesis project for my degree about drinking water vending machine (the one that you bring your empt bottle to fill the water in)
and one of my concept is the machine will somehow able to sense the capacity of your empty bottle (no matter what its shape/size is) and dispense the accurate amount of water which fit to your bottle perfectly…and that where i’m get stuck because I have to find the reference technology to discuss with my advisor…
so I wonder is there any kind of sensor that can sense the capacity of the empty bottle ?

“so I wonder is there any kind of sensor that can sense the capacity of the empty bottle ?”

No. I don’t think so. You’ll have to find another idea.

Does it have to be automatic? Wouldnt inputing the volume manually be enough?

Youve surely already thought of that, but it would be interesting to hear the reasoning around it.

What about a sensor that goes in to the nozzle and when the water level reaches the sensor it would stop?

This is a typical ID problem. Do your research and you should be able to figure it out. Also don’t over think it. It doesn’t have to be magic. Explore ideas like above, look into electric eyes, think about scales, the list could go on and on. I would spend a night looking in to beverage dispensing and see what’s out there, what has been done, how the fast food guys do it, and how you can adapt their ideas to your product.

You shouldn’t present the problem this way. It makes it sound like you got this idea and now you want a magic technological solution for it to work.
Ask yourself what problem are you tackling. And what is your concept to solve it ? Then think how you materialise it.