Wacom Tablet

Hello all,

i am looking to get a Wacom Tablet, but at the moment i know nothing about them! i am pretty much doing research on them as we speak (type)…can some PLS be patient with me and give me the break down, what to look for, benefits, who is their compatetitor, etc. my background is in Industrial design and Graphic design. thanx in adv

Really?

Anyway, there is some but minimal competition for Wacom. You’re best off looking for an intuos3 or intuos4, if you have the budget a cintiq would be super nice. You can get your faux cintiq on with a used tablet pc off ebay, some have Wacom technology.

thankx for the reply, but what did u mean by "really?’ lol i am assuming that is a sarcastic mark.

anyhow, what programs are used with wacom? i am assuming only photoshop, Alias sketch…anything else i should know about (solidworks, other CADD?)

thanks again

one more Q,

there seems to be many diff wacom tablets, what is a common size for ID/Graphics designers. i am on a budget also.

thanks again

I got a intuos3 a5 wide. Size is great, never feels to small. Only downside is that it doesnt fit next to my laptop in the messengerbag, because its too wide for the compartment. (about 3-4 cm too wide)

std a5 has almost identical size to the 15" mbp.

If youre on a budget, look for intuos 3, you should be able to get a good deal on those, now that the 4 series is rolling out. Havent tried the new ones, but the only thing that interest me on those is the wireless feature.

I have an Intous 3 6x11 (A5 wide) and I absolutely love it. If you do any photo retouching or photoshop renderings then they are hard to beat.

I use my tablet with these programs:

• Adobe Photoshop
  • Corel Painter
  • Autodesk Sketchbook Pro
  • ZBrush
  • Autodesk Mudbox