Updating my portfolio after being out two years

Was wondering if this should be here or the portfolio section - but I think this topic may fit here better since this might answer other people’s answers in similar situations, and isn’t a discussion specific to my portfolio.

It’s been about two years since I graduated, and I’ve gotten a few interviews and a job offer out of the country but nothing too enticing. I kind of gave up design to go another route with my career while also freelancing with logos + some UI / UX projects on the side, but now I feel as if I made the wrong choice and really do actually miss industrial design.

I’m looking back at my portfolio with fresh eyes and holy moly! It’s really missing some things - Surfacing is the biggest one of them all. We were never really taught that at the school I graduated from.

What are some ways I could update my portfolio now that I’ve graduated and been away for a couple years? Specifically adding and showcasing skills that may have been missing from my portfolio out of school? Should I consider just doing side projects that use skills that are missing?

Thanks C77!

Well the good news is you have some freelancing to show, even if not directly ID related. I would definitely beef up the portfolio with some side projects. They don’t have to be crazy involved projects. I did a series of conceptual phone pieces before interviewing with frog a few years back for example. Most of my portfolio at the time was footwear and I wanted to show that I could do the kind of work they do.

Thanks yo, great work and I love what you do for the field of industrial design,

I think that’s what I’ll do - some side work targeted towards the firms I may have interest in working for.

Best recommended way to learn surfacing for someone who knows the basics of Solidworks pretty well? Just jump right in and start playing with it?