University of Washington

anyone been or know anything about this program. looks like it’s fairly new. I’ve heard good things about their fine arts department but nothing about this. thanks

I graduated from the UWID Program in '05. The program actually has a pretty long history and has produced some very successful designers. The department has had a major overhaul since then so I can’t say much about it what it’s like now but my experience there was very good and provided me with a well-rounded education and skill set. I would say the program is definitely worth looking into.

thanks for your reply. Did you feel the program had good resources for going into toy design? Also do you know if you need a design degree in undergrad to apply for the grad program? or is sculpture an acceptable degree? thanks again.

I’m not certain of the requirements of the UWID grad program but I’m sure background in sculpture is a good thing. I suggest you arrange to meet with one of the instructors or some of the students. They are usually more than willing to show you around and give you the info you need.
The UW has a ton of resources to offer and it is common to collaborate with other departments like engineering and computer sciences for example. I have no doubt that you could apply these resources to some really rewarding studies in toy design.
best of luck!