Undergraduate ID programs with a good eng/design balance?

I am a high school student looking into attending college to study industrial design. I know that this is what I want to do, but I’m having a hard time finding the right program for me. I’m very artistic and design oriented, but also incredibly strong in math. I want a program that will combine both a design and engineering curriculum.

The only program I’ve come across that seems to fit this description is the Product Design program at Stanford. However, it’s really difficult to get into, and I want to find some safety schools that offer a similar program. Is anyone here familiar with other programs that combine both a design and engineering education? Any input you have is greatly appreciated!

Also, the Stanford program graduates a lot of people who are neither good engineers nor good designers. The program should teach marketing because they seem best at PR. Both of these careers are challenging. Focus yourself first. If you still want to learn more, go back to school.

I think some schools - WWU for one - have the ID dept in the Engineering school, and do a lot of ME, machining, etc. so that might be a way to start.

Ditto on the Stanford D school comments, some of those portfolios make me scratch my head.