UK based portfolio website

http://www.FreshDesignWorks.co.uk

I’ve just finished a major update of my portfolio website (see link above) which I built using Behance/Prosite.

I’d be grateful for your feedback. Please be as positive and constructive as possible though, I’m a graduate and I’ve been trying to find work for a while now and I don’t think my ego could take another battering.

Also, what are your views on the differences between ID and IDers in the US and UK?

Thanks

Hey Ben,

I’m David, a UK designer too. I think you’ve a couple of good projects in there but that overall your portfolio could be a lot stronger.

In my opinion, your furniture design is by far the strongest area of your portfolio. Lose the graphics section, the other design projects and the climbing wall, they’re not adding an awful lot of value to your portfolio. Focus on your strengths.

Your sketching is definitely not a strength, you need to revisit some of those past projects and not only produce some better sketches but present them in a better way also. They’re very very basic and don’t show a great deal of understanding of perspective or form, there’s no exploration or story being told through them.

With regards to the design of your actual website and the format upon which it’s built I’d maybe have a bit of a rethink. It’s great that you’ve kept it simple but it’s poorly designed with regards to alignment, layout and fonts etc. I’ve recently put together a free quick guide of how to create an online product design portfolio, perhaps that will help?

Hope that’s not too destructive and pretty constructive.

From what I’ve seen, the UK portfolios usually have a lot more process work and go into a lot more detail about how the project developed. They also seem to have a lot of text. US portfolios seem to be more short and snappy, and more of a “pitch” about the project rather than a documentation.