uh oh! it's an engineering portfolio!

Hey there, so here’s the short story:

I’m a senior Mechanical Engineering student about to graduate and my plan is to try to find a job as a design engineer.

I’ve had an intense interest in ID for a few years now, and I’ve had the chance to intern at a variety of design consultancies and see what you guys get to do everyday. I haven’t decided if I want to make the leap to ID (don’t get too worried, I’m very aware I can’t just jump into it with the assumption of “well if I can do engineering, I’m sure I can draw some pretty pictures,” I have an immense respect for the skills you guys have acquired over your years, I realize I’d probably have to go back to school in some respect), so my plan is to get a job as a design engineer and try that for a few years and see where I want to go from there.

I’ve been an avid follower of core77 as well as a variety of other design blogs and I’ve admired many of the portfolio’s that I’ve seen pass through here. So I felt that when it was time to create my engineering portfolio I could try to up the standards of the typical “engineer’s portfolio” and apply some of the ID/graphic design sensibilities to my own presentation.

Now that said, I’d love to get some feedback from anyone/everyone on my progress. As it stands, I’d call it the rough draft stage, I’ve put all the content in there, but I would still like to go over all my text, wording, etc. But I’d appreciate any and all advice/criticism/suggestions that you guys have to offer. Now, do keep in mind that I’m trying to present this as an engineering portfolio, not an ID portfolio, so there will probably be some stuff in there that doesn’t interest you as much, and there’s going to be a lot lacking if I were billing this as an ID folio (very limited sketching, renders, etc.) but I do think you can draw a lot of similarities in the strengths/weaknesses of this portfolio to all the ID folio’s that have been posted.