trouble securing a job, please help!!!

I have a particular job situation and hope that some of you might be able to offer some good advice. It’s a long story but I’ll try to make it as concise as possible…

I am an ider who graduated in 02 from a good school, with a good gpa, decent portfolio and am half way through an MBA (trying to learn the business side of things). I used to live in the southeast and struggled for two years to find a design job. Meanwhile I worked in sales/cust. serv. and did some freelance to make ends meet. I got married and my spouse got a juicy job offer in southern California so I followed and moved to cali. Obviously I was excited thinking about all the opportunities available for designers in CA. So I started my job search and was immediately called for an interview to work as a temp doing admin. work for a known entertainment company in their creative/marketing department. Since they have studios where they employ designers I decided to take the job thinking it would be a good way to get my foot in the door.

I ended up working directly under one of the top officials of the company. I presented him my resume and portfolio and expressed my interest in acquiring a permanent position as a designer or anything related to their design process to keep my options open. He was impressed with everything I showed him and said he would find me something good. After speaking to other bosses he told me to expect a call from them any time soon. I also did my homework and spoke to HR directly about my intentions just to go through the official application process. At the time everyone, including my boss, seemed to be enthusiastic about it and things seemed to be moving quickly. I thought I was on my way to finally landing that first big job.