Transition Internship Cover Letter

http://drop.io/sy2yqmv#

Hey all,

I’m a final-semester Mechanical Engineering student planning on pursuing ID in the near future. I need to take a (school) year off in order to develop a portfolio to get into an ID school and think it might be a good idea to pursue some (any) sort of placement in an ID company or division in the mean time. Anyways, I’d appreciate any feedback you’re willing to give on my cover letter, which I’ve provided a link to.

Is there anything I should direct more attention to? Expand upon? Eliminate? Any feedback that might help my chances is greatly appreciated, thanks!

http://drop.io/sy2yqmv#

I know its just a generic one but really try to avoid at ALL costs “To whom it may concern” . Find out who you may be interviewing with or head of HR and address it to them.

Also Ive found out that as much of a “pain” that it is a personal cover letter will go much further than one you send out to everyone and just change who it is.

I tried that… the only 2 interviews Ive gotten back were from the cover letters I took the time to personally write…

Just my 2 cents.

I definitely agree with those two points and I plan to implement those changes as soon as I know who exactly I’ll be applying to work with. On the topic of personalization, what should I make specific to the company seeing as I spend most of the time talking about myself and experience?
Should I eliminate a portion of the letter to make room for explaining what about the company is attractive to me? If so, what can I put less emphasis on (academic projects, engineering work placement, etc.)?
I feel that I need to present my engineering academic credentials, but not dwell on them as much as I might if I were applying for an engineering job.