Tough Decisions for a Second Undergrad Degree

Hey All,
I’ve been reading this forum for over a year and a half now, ever since a friend who is earning her MID from GaTech pointed me to it.

After much debate, I decided to go the second undergraduate degree route and now it’s crunch time.

I’m a North Carolina resident, but after applying and interviewing at NC State, they told me my work was too advanced for undergraduate and recommended I apply to the Master’s. Well, too little too late; they told me this in February, I haven’t taken or planned to take the GRE, and my rejection letter informed me that I wasn’t necessarily given a place in the graduate program either (understandably.) I feel that I need a more core guided curriculum; I know my weaknesses are in my drawing, rendering, auto-cad, etc. I can draw for myself, but getting others to understand is another matter (and isn’t that what ID is about a good bit?) I don’t think I can get that on my own with no direction and will not get it from a Master’s program with everyone else beyond my skill set.

So now I have to pick from the other schools into which I was accepted. I have been accepted to SCAD and UIChicago and am waiting to hear from UCincinnati. It seems a common belief on this forum that UCin would be the best option due to their internship program, ties to industry, etc.

The thing is, I love Chicago! But I haven’t read anything positive on this site about UIC; just posts from the one lone guy who swears he’ll make it the design school to attend. His last posts were about two years ago though. I have read online that UIC is considered one of the top 60 (in no particular order) ID schools in the world (as of 2008,) due to their ties to Motorola and other factors. I’m torn because I have heard great things about SCAD, Savannah is a cool little town, but at the same time I’ve also heard the comment that “if you have a pulse and a checkbook…” SCAD will let you in.