Time to learn how to render and present

Hey Guys,
I started this topic so I don’t populate the sketching topic with an ongoing study. It’s my hopes that someone in the same position as I am will see this post and have many of the same questions answered that I have coming from a totally novice point of view and position.

The number one issue for me at the moment is that I am a die hard fan and user of CorelDraw. I have limited experience with CorelPaint which is similar to Adobe Photoshop. I figure that since programs vary and users have different preferences of said programs I hope that the responses will be directed towards visual execution rather than technical step by step responses as it relates to photoshop.

It’s like when my ex-father in-law taught me how to play golf. He is an excellent golfer but he was a terrible teacher of golf for me since I am left handed and he was right handed. His solution was for me to learn right handed and then translate on my own and so I did.

I will learn photoshop at a later time because the learning curve is steep but the idea and execution remains the same if I use CorelDraw which has a control and command set that I am totally comfortable with.

Step one:
I need to find a shoe design that fulfills my needs to understand different surface rendering properties. So far this is the design I have come up with. It’s in first draft pencil and only the lateral side view for now so you are viewing this project in its infancy.

As I develop the various views needed for a well rounded presentation I am sure the design of the shoe will adapt and become cleaner and more focused.

This design has a plastic heel area, smooth leather upper, meshed inserts, sueded toe area, elastic inserts and a rubber 3D bottom outsole. I think this incorporates all of the various textures I might come across on my Bball rendering journey.

I will flush out the various views prior to going to stage one of rendering.