Thoughts from the road.

This month it will be 10 years since I graduated from school and officially started the professional part of my life. I took a long weekend on the Oregon Coast, and have had a lot of time to just sit and think and reflect. I thought I would jot down a few things I’ve learned. They might not be helpful at all for you and your journey, but they are helpful for me.

The most important thing I wish I could have made myself understand 10 years ago: “Life is a marathon, not a sprint”. I first heard that about 10 years ago. It didn’t mean nearly as much to me then as it does now. You have to strengthen yourself with patience. Make a long term plan. Make a back up plan. Be ready to throw both away in heartbeat when a unique opportunity comes along. There will be times when you think you won’t make it, but you have to keep moving forward. Just like a marathon, it is about doing your personal best, which in some cases may mean just barely finishing. If you pull out ahead at the start, you might not make it to the finish line. Finding your pace can be the hardest thing you will ever have to figure out. This is not meant to discourage anyone. You might be the next Marc Newson, it might happen fast (it didn’t for him), but there will still be things to accomplish and learn. The good news is most of us will hopefully have upwards of 50 years to make mistakes, learn, improve, design, redesign, teach, mentor, relearn and hopefully make things better.