There are designers and then there are DESIGNERS...

This is really frustrating me. :imp:

People in the engineering department where I work who have 2 year degrees and are nothing more than drafters get a “Designer” title.

No wonder we don’t get any respect in the corporate world - people liberally use our job title for other, less qualified people! :unamused:

try proving to your peers how you are different. Otherwise, you are just a fool who spent 2 extra years in school for something you didn’t need to. To most you are a felt tip fairy…

???

People understand what I do where I work as a Senior IDer.

I was simply making a general observation about a trend taking place. I see the same thing on job postings on Monster.com

Don’t forget the fact than the trend in many 2 yr Drafting programs is to change the name from CAD Drafting certificate to Industrial Design Certificate. Just interviewed 3 “canidates” for a mid-level design position. Man were they confussed when I asked to see their portfolio not their cad work, especially when I told them “we rarely work in CAD…that is what out engineering partners are for!”

I learned I can not rely on the companies recuiter to weed out aplicants anymore.

ny, this is not a new “trend” at all, HR depts and employment agencies have always been either too ignorant or too lazy to bother checking what drafters do for a living vs designers. Most unfair is that engineering drafters take on the “designer” label to boost their saleability by giving themselves off as creatives. Some can be (in a limited engineering sort of way) but most should stick to their technician or drafting titles for an accurate picture of their contribution.