the status of designer

Hello ,I’m a chinese student . I saw a speech video , the boss of a training institution was giving a speech to the students, he said , ‘’ I have some designers , they can do PS vrey well, but their poster is ugly , so I employed a graduates of Tsinghua university .and the salary is much high then others .But the graduates can’t do PS very well . now I prefer the former designer,cause they can work out what I want faster and better.‘’ attention to the last sentences he said . what the designer do is just do what the boss said.
One of my teacher said , the reason she come here and to be a teacher was that her first job,the client draw schetches to her. and they don’t want whatever her have done ,they only want what they designed by themselves.
Art and design was not like other subjects, every one is a designer. Indeed , designer have a low social status. when my high school classmates ask me what is my majoy in university and i said industry design . they said design is just change the things to beauty , and it is nothing to study
Is it the same in USA or other country?

Sadly, I’ve found that many in the corporate world don’t quite understand what industrial design actually is. They think that it is our job to “pretty things up.” That’s obviously not the case to anyone on this board.

The really successful companies see industrial design as a huge asset to how they sell their portfolio of products.

somebody said design can change the world and believe it , maybe we should reconsider ourselves , design was not that great. even though B&O and Apple prove the value and important of design
everyone was a designer . and maybe we are not that needed , if the client have time or enjoy it, he will design herself. they sketch, then we rendering . Do the phenomenon exist in USA too?