The More Advice The Merrier!

I have spent a few days mulling over the forums for an answer, but I haven’t found anything that really fits my situation… I just get the impression that every school is good for a different kind of person.

So if any of you have a quasi-case-specific answer for me, I’d flip out in happiness.:open_mouth:

Here’s a brief run-down of things:
I’m 24 years old.
I’m a Florida resident, with lots of AP/IB credits under my belt and a great SAT score.

My junior year of college, UF wouldn’t let me switch my major to architecture (from mechanical/aerospace engineering) so i dropped out. Based on my lack of enthusiasm for my undergrad major, my college GPA is nothing to be proud of.:blush:

However, since dropping out, I’ve discovered my true passion lies with design. More specifically, I had been working on finding my own personal philosophy on life (corny as it may sound), and this has led me to design. I am inspired by all ‘designs for humanity’. From Rocket Stoves and the Hippo Rollers designed for developing nations to the nearly cliche IDEO shopping carts.

I’ve been surrounding myself with Google and TED talks, reading some IDEO books (as well as some Kurt Vonnegut), I’ve practiced hand sketching, Modo302, Rhino3d and SketchUp. I’ve even submitted to a few design competitions.

BUT, what I REALLY want to do is go back to school and nurture my design education. (I enjoyed reading the forum posts about never being too old) I want to learn how to be a better designer, and surround myself with others who share this interests. (yay for collaboration!)

:exclamation:THIS IS WHERE YOU ALL COME IN:!:
I’m looking for a good Industrial Design program to enroll in.
Obviously places like Carnegie Mellon are awesome, but I’m trying to be a little more realistic.
As ‘Kayto Theo’ and ‘Infini’ pointed out, some schools are infamous for what they called “training beautiful CAD-monkies”. This is NOT what I want.