The Lumi Process: Photographic Printing on Natural Materials

Here’s a 1 minute video I did the creative direction for, that quickly explains the process:

[vimeo]http://vimeo.com/45725193[/vimeo]

Though I’m not the most frequent poster, I’ve been involved in the Core 77 community for a while. From when I first discovered I wanted to be a designer, through my years at Art Center sharing work with other design students.

This is why I’m so excited to share a project I’ve been working on for about 3 years. It’s a printing technology that uses a light-sensitive dye to create permanent designs on natural materials. The dyes can be used to create photographic prints on cotton, linen, leather, suede, wood, and other absorbent natural fibers:

Leather

Cotton

As an industrial designer, I find this tool invaluable because it expands the range of what can be done with sustainable materials. For example, I designed the Dexter work sled for car enthusiasts (on the Core77 blog last year) using raw materials, mainly plywood, steel and leather. The head rest was actually one of the very first leather prints done with the Lumi Process while we were still developing the technology.

There’s no other technique in the world that would have allowed me to quickly print on leather without affecting the texture of the material.

At the moment we’re running a Kickstarter campaign to make these new tools available to designers and makers everywhere. We’ve even created an iPhone app that helps quickly turn pictures into negatives. Although as designers you may prefer to use Photoshop for more control.

Hey kepano

Glad to see the lumi project is still going strong! I was excited when I saw your first campaign 2 years ago. I love the 1 minute video, the editing is spot on and pacing and music selection is perfect. Did you guys do it yourselves?

Good luck with the campaign.