The Jumpstart to Better Sketches

I noticed a topic earlier concerning the development to good sketching-

I have 2 quick side notes before I give my “two cents” on a fast way to have the sketching “skills that pay the bills,” as my favorite b-boys from Zoo York would put it.

1. I graduated last spring from a respected school and my sketches now compared to when I was a sophmore in the program would make you fall on the floor. My stuff back then was horrendous, and I’ll guarantee no matter how bad you think you may be, these were worse. I’ve had internship and work experience with two separate firms so far that are both internationally influential. The first was landed through innovative user research, the second on CAD ability and mainly perseverence with a pretty gruff boss.

2. If you were able to make it into a design program, whether you’ve graduated and doubt your ability or if you’re still in school, remember that if you can pick up a pencil and move your hand and your brain is in good working order, it may take years, but if you stick to it, your stuff will be razor sharp. Remember, Mike Jordan failed high school basketball tryouts.
    But he had desire, dedication, and determination. Keep practicing and draw that cylinder or cube 300 times if you have to. Your brain will force you to make it look more perfect, 'cause it will get sick of drawing the same one for you. After that, you’ll jump to the next level of combining the cylinder and cube into something that resembles a product, and start the process again.

NOW TO THE JUMPSTART-

1. Use a blue lead in your pencil. Draw as many inacurate lines of the product’s shape as you want, then pick out the different individual lines that make the shape correct, and highlight them with a dark pencil or a pen. This is a good mental excercise, just trust me.