The industrial Design process?

Hello everyone. I graduated college about a year ago and have been working in Commercial VFX since then. Im thinking about making the change to ID. I have done some freelance design but i know im lacking in showing my process in coming up with designs.

So this is my question. how do you go about showing that process? is there some sort of standard way that employers look for?

Here is my website. There are some renders of different designs, and some sketches but no nuts to soup ideas. (as you can see i like 3d :smiley:)

Thanks everyone

-Mike

I’d work on sketching, your end results look really nice. And the presentation of them is good. You might be able to get a ID cadjocky job then work from there. Maybe take some classes and really focus to get everything out of them.

Well i can understand about sketching. I dont mind sketching but i will say its easier and usally faster for me to work in 3d. So what is the point of the process if the end result is good?

Im just lost about this, never learned it.

any help is greatly appreciated

You’d have to be pretty fast in 3d to communicate a complex idea that way vs a sketch. A sketch can communicate a complex system f ideas in 15 minutes (and that is making it pretty)… not so in 3d.

These are 2 excellent examples of showing process:
by Timothy Lamb:

http://www.lambiam.com/modeshoe.htm

http://www.lambiam.com/modestore.htm

A result of a good process is the production of a good product (or interface, or whatever else you were doing). Things that seem to blend seamlessly and work well, intuitively were well throughout from inception.