The importance of communication tools...

How many communication tools does one need to master to be effective as an industrial designer?

I’ve been a student at the University of Montreal for the past year and a half now and the vast majority of our classes up til now (all but 3) have been centered around the visualization of an idea instead of differentiating good from bad design/solutions, developing a stance on the profession and consequently our voice and the impact we wish to affect, even if idealistic. The most vocal of our teachers stress intensely how important it is to be proefficient as a visual communicator and as such we’ve had classes and/or seminars on these various tools - sketching, physical scale models, 2d editing software (PS, AI), CAD & Animation (SW, C4D, Rhino, Keyshot), Photo & Video Editing… We’re presented with a vast array of tools and are told that we should be making their usage second nature.

This is an issue for me because I don’t consider myself an artist. I like to solve problems and learning about the methodology to think outside the box in trying to come up with clever solutions and so far, too much attention has been brought to perfecting the envelope instead of the content, imo. Teaching myself these tools isn’t exactly a problem, but it is time consuming and I can’t help but feel like my time would be better spent elsewhere.

In trying to improve as a designer, I’m wondering if there’s a specific skillset that is fundamental to learn and strive to become better at. Recalling the 10,000 hour rule to achieving mastery in any given field, it maintains that one should train in a focused and deliberate manner; keeping the end-goal in mind. What is said goal in I.D.? I can’t seem to find a precise enough answer… Or perhaps this difficulty is explained by the fact that everyone seems to have a different definition of what I.D. boils down to…