The First Website

I’m attempting to create my own website, but I’m not very good with web stuff just yet so I was hoping some of you might be able to help. First, any good books about how/where to start? Like, what’s a good place to host my site, where the best place to get my domain name, what do I have to look out for? I’m thinking of designing the site in GoLive, just because that’s what I have on my computer. I just wanted to know if that was some huge mistake, b/c everyone seems to use dreamweaver or flash. I guess I’d just like to know if anyone else struggled creating their first site, and what got you through it. Thanks :smiley:

Dont worry mate your not by yourself, i had big trouble designing my first site. I used flash to design it and had a stack for three flash bibles beside my computer. I knew the basics in flash but not enough to produce a site. I did get through it though and created a excellent site which all my friend and family loved i even got some work through it which was good.

The thing that kept me going was the big sign i made and put on my wall which said,

IM A DESIGNER NOT A TEACHER< I WANT A PROPER JOB IN THE DESIGN INDUSTRY DESIGNING SEXY PRODUCT…

KEEPING GOING MY SON YOU NEED TO COMPLETE THIS SITE IN ORDER TO APPLY FOR THOSE JOBS>

I know it might sound stupid but it worked for me and it helped me get through. As for software designing your site I would say use flash. Forget about hosting and domain names for the time being get the site up and running first, then have a website party when your site goes live…

If you compare the Macromedia products to the Adobe products I think they are both good but I like to mix and match programs. I’ve found that for my work the best combination is Dreamweaver, Flash, Photoshop, and Illustrator.