Technical Stuff

Hi, hope someone could help please. I am a student and I am doing a project looking into the relationship between the physical appearance of products and users mental models and their learnt behaviour. This is because products are increasing in technology yet lacking in their interfaces as just their screens change but thats it. Mobile (celluar) phones and PDAs are two of things i am looking into so i need to find out how they work and what internal components they have. Then for space packaging i need to know the dimensions of the components like PDA LCD touch screens etc.
If anyone knows of any sites, documentation or anything like howstuffworks.com please let me know.

Hope for some replys

I know where you’re going with this… Be careful.

Unless they’re an electrical engineer, users don’t create mental models based on the internal componentry (EE), they create them mostly from past use (convention) or invent models to best describe behavior. This is all software, rarely ME and never EE.

Concentrate on how to “borrow” models based on real-world convention rather than force fit a model based on the system. Metaphors are usually up to the task.

ie. Rather than “the user uploads her binary data to the EEPROM” make it: “the user files her document in the cabinet” or “the user charms the magic crystal with her preferences.”

There is a huge need to better leverage the affordances of the hardware however: When “flipping” through your address book for instance, why not literally flip your device? Or when locking the content, why not physically slide something over the screen? Etc. etc.