Talking about leadership skills for a junior position...

Hello all!

I’m in my final year, and about to start applying for junior positions (hooray!). I had some questions regarding talking about my leadership experience when applying for a job that doesn’t really have leadership in it (unless I’m mistaken about junior designers…).

I’ve had a huge breadth of leadership experiences with designers (as an IDSA leader), but also with other disciplines (most notably my leadership position as president for a student organization on campus). I’ve led organizations of 60+ multidisciplinary students to hosting events, and building booth (a 6-month undertaking of constructing a two-story themed structure for carnival from scratch… see here: http://tarng.com/2010/booth.html). I’ve had lots of experience managing all types of people, and can communicate design principles to non-designers.

My question is: since a junior level position won’t be leading anything, how can I use all these experiences to my advantage in an interview or cover letter or resume?

Thanks!

Well as a leader you know what makes a good “follower” and a bad “follower”. All of your leadership experience has also indirectly made you a better team player, because you have been in the position to evaluate people based on their ability to take direction, execute game plans, play well with others, etc.

I would talk to it in that way, I don’t think there is anything wrong with coming out and saying I like to lead, I think I can be a great leader when the time comes for me to step up. But phrasing it in a way that makes you come off as an even better team player will probably play to your advantage at this stage.