Tablet PC vs PC Tablet

I’m an Industrial Designer based in Asia. Since my workflow involves the process of hand sketching then scanning the sketch to be rendered in photoshop, I’m thinking of getting a tablet pc. Is it reliable to use a tablet PC or will I be better off using a laptop + wacom tablet? Any software incompatibily since tablet PCs run on Windows XP Tablet PC Edition?

Wong-

might be helpful to post this in the sketching or general design section of the forum. you might get better responses.

I haven’t used a tablet PC but I have used a Wacom and liked the Wacom. I think if you are going to be stationary and working in one place I think you should get the Wacom. do you already own a laptop? If you do might now make sense to purchase another just for sketching/ tablet purposes.

Mm

Personally I love the tablet PC’s. Great for travelin, no need to go through the tedius process of building hand eye co-oridination between the tablet and the screen and such.

Go ahead, rub it in! One day I’ll be able to get one, ha ha. Couldn’t they make a cheaper one that basically works like a wacom with a screen so you can just plug it into your tower, without it being the whole laptop deal?

Yeah, Tablet PCs are pretty cool but what I’d like to ask you wacom fluent guys is if you think that pressure sensitivity is important?

I know the Cinteqs have it, but alot of the lappys don’t…

so, do you have a tablet pc, yo? which one? did you do any comparisons before deciding on one? i am looking at that toshiba tecra m4 joint its specs make it a BEAST, have seen any that come close to it.

actually I don’t, I have a wacom cintiq (you know the wacom tablet with a screen that you can plug into your tower!) and a powebook, but I’m hoping to get one. I’ve test driven the Toshibas and a friend has had one for about a year and loves it!