Switching from Architecture to Industrial Design

Everyone,
I’d love some feedback on my situation.

I graduated with a BA in Architecture, and worked for over a year at an architecture firm, but am now between jobs. I love consumer products, drawing, and coming up with new ideas for products, or just having more innovating thoughts toward new ones. I’ve had considerable AutoCad Experience, Photoshop, Illustrator, and working knowledge of other 3-D programs. I’ve experienced a fairly wide variety of design disciplines in school in addition to architecture, and am now looking to make a career switch to Industrial Design. I’m currently preparing a portfolio, some with projects from school that may be applicable.

My question is: How difficult is it to make the switch from a design discipline of architecture, to industrial design? Is there anything special I need to keep in mind for my portfolio?

Also, I’m not against going back to school, but would love the opportunity to really explore industrial design as a profession before I pursue a graduate degree in design. Any comments/auggestions anyone?

1st, go over to the schools discussion area and read up a bit.

2nd, post your portfolio so-far and ask for feedback.

3rd, surf around the portfolios here and think about the differences to your work and goals.

I just made the jump from a BA in architecture to the field of industrial design. My interest in designing footwear is what brought me to ID. I found it very difficult to immediately start a career in footwear design without any ID trainning. It seems you had a little more experience with a variety of programs, I attended a very traditional school, but I still think a design firm focusing on consumer products would like to see that you have a little experience in exploring that type of design. You may be able to get a foot in the door of ID with a few individual courses, but I would say that is probably extremely difficult, unless you “know somebody”.