Survey: Creating Tomorrow's Designer

In the coming months, the IDSA will host it’s national conference in Boston. The theme for the conference is “The Future Is…,” and to go along with the theme, I’m studying the future of the industrial design curriculum taught in schools. As both a professional and a professor, I care about this subject deeply and want to give my best ideas to help us all have the biggest impact possible. Our world, and the part of it that is industrial design, is exploding with possibilities. Now is as important a time as ever to understand how we should evolve as a group.

If you were asked to build a new curriculum from scratch, what would it look like? This is your opportunity to weigh in.

I’m looking for influential designers and design managers from the industry to help understand what the most important skills are for the future of their businesses. From your input, design schools can adjust their courses to better serve the industrial design profession. If you have friends, colleagues, or bosses that you think should participate, please send them the link. If you have any questions, feel free to contact me.

I know many people on Core77 aren’t members of the IDSA, and that is exactly why I’m soliciting respondents from these boards. I really want a broad perspective in order to get the most robust results possible. Please take the survey, and check out the results this August in Boston if you’re at the conference. Thanks for your support!

Strategic THINKING + Tactical DOING.

A great program is going to teach both of these things. It is not a question of either or. Asking that is like asking what is more important to human survival, air or water? If you had to prioritize would you pick breathing or your hear beating? The answer is both.