Suggestions and criticism very welcome

Hello there.

I am still a student but am about to graduate. I have been working on my portfolio and was hoping if you could give some feedback or suggestions.

Thanks in advance.

design portfolio

Hey Niels,
Took a look through your ID section. My suggestion: loose all the flash/video and simplify the site to a gallery image viewer that features a balanced mix between sketches, renders and product info. Your descriptions were a bit too wordy for my taste. I’d work on chopping your descriptions into one or two sentences chunks that you ca add onto a relevant slide.

I really liked you Co Builder project, especially your inclusion of ideation sketches, let’s us know that you’ve thought this thing through and didn’t just jump to the final render.

Cheers,
Choto

For me personally i got quite consufed by your text. What i mean is that your writting style was informing me rather like a teacher would instead of explaining what and why you had done something. In particular your sketching page i was confused as to why you were telling me:

Although computer programs offer good 3D modelling the first ideas are still being drawn by hand. Quick sketches communicate the ideas and enable designers to translate their ideas to other designers and disciplines

Definately loose the flash, flash is for flashy stuff and by flashy really really flashy

I also found it very bitty i.e for some aspects of your case studies you were using a picture viewr and others flash emedded pictures which were zooming in or out.

Agree with Choto your Co builder project is by far strongest project on there, as allready suggested, loose the text and standardise the way your showing your images.

The best websites imo are the ones that dont require you to think of what to do, what to click. Look at Yo’s or even under the section here of portolfios you’ll find most of them are heavily graphics based and very simple.