studiotools/rino vs solidworks vs maya/3d studio max

hi everyone im new to modelling and need some help understanding where the software stands in relation to one another

i realize theyre different programs and all have different applications
im an ID student at ocad and we’re being taught studiotools
im still pretty new to 3d modeling in general so i may be completly wrong but by my understanding solidworks is more for creating accurate cad drawings for production, and programs like 3d studio max and maya are good for modeling and rendering photorealistic images or videos

i cant quite see what strength industrial design rendering programs like studio tools or rhino have, especially with simplistic rendering programs like image studio. yet the software is popular in industrial design

can someone explain to me what makes rhino or studio tools useful in the field of industrial design? is it easier to model in or something?

and if i needed to learn one or two modeling programs which would they be and why?

thanks in advance

The strength of Studiotools and Rhino are that they are SURFACE modellers - they allow you a great deal of power to define extremely complex surface shapes VERY quickly.

For example if you were working as a designer designing computer monitors, you wouldn’t really need to know how to do surface modelling. Using a Solid modeller like Pro E or Solidworks would allow you to define all of your shapes (boxes with some chamfers and fillets on them) very quickly and accurately, and ship them right off for production.

Alias and Rhino are NURBS surface modellers - Alias Autostudio (the full-featured version of Studiotools) is what virtually every car studio on the planet uses to build their cars. It has extremely powerful tools for building and evaluating very complex surfaces.

Take a look at something like this :