StudioTools or Maya?

I been asking this question for a while.
I’m an industrial designer. Basically most IDers recommend ST as the ultimate 3D soft. for product/automotive design.
On the other hand, Maya has been proved to be the perfect package for modeling, rendering, and animation, tho its complexity.
So I wonder, if I were to spend the hell lot of time in one software, which should it be?
Or would be that one complement the other?
I’m willing to put all my efforts in learning Maya, but seems that most ID firms adopt ST or Rhino. (not comparing w.UGX, Pro/E, SLW, Catia and such).
I have greater interests in Design Viz/Presentation and Animation over surface modeling.
Is Maya compatible w. Pro/E and such?

The question comes up often. The truth is Maya is GREAT as a visualization tool, but in an ID firm it will be much more essential to be fluent in a surface/solid modeller.

I would not spend time learning Maya’s modelling. Learn to model in another tool (Rhino, Solidworks, and Alias are all good) and then you can learn how to render in Maya to create the pretty images. I think an employer will also value if you know a surface modeller AND a solid modeller (Rhino/Alias vs Solidworks/Pro E). Even if they don’t use the program you’ve learned, you’ll understand all the basics you need.

Maya will be compatible with just about everything, but it’s a matter of finding the right file format for transferring data. Rhino is excellent in that it seamlessly integrates with virtually every program in existance.

from an enrolment perspective I have notices a shift for id’ers learning maya. It is hard to beat these curve tools in Alias or Rhino however many of the same nurbs tools are there in Maya as well. Except designers get the power to polygon modeling. And that turns over well to nurbs thru subd then nurbs surfaces. This month we have three industrial designers all from Texas learning maya and non learning Alias.