Stuck, in need of some help...

Having graduated 3 years ago I am finding myself in a weird situation. I moved to NYC and began doing some freelance design work for a company in Brooklyn right after I graduated. It was only on a project to project basis so it wasn’t enough to put food on the table. After about a year of this and working at a restaurant I somehow got into sales (going on almost 2 years :confused: ) and I now feel that I’m stuck. I’ve been trying to get back into design but I am stressed about the fact that I’m 3 years out of school with only a little freelance design experience. I feel as though employers look at me and think that I am past being an intern yet not qualified to be a Junior Designer. For the past month I have been applying to numerous job postings and sending out inquiry e-mails to companies in the area in hopes of landing an internship/junior design position (not much success). Any advice on how I might go about my search in a different manner to get better results? Link to portfolio below. Greatly appreciate any/all advice. Thanks!

Hi Jason,

I think you have some pretty good work. What drove the decision to move to and stay in NYC?

My girlfriend had recently moved there for a graphic design job which is why I moved and continue to live in the city. I also had a freelance design job in the beginning. I’m certainly not opposed to moving it just isn’t ideal. And I feel like between the 5 boroughs and New Jersey I should be able to find something nearby.

Hey Jason,