stepping into ID

Hello to all the ID nuts. I’ve read these boards for a bit and I’ve got a few curiosities of mine own:

I’ve got a BA in Art History from a top 20 university, dean’s list, etc. I’ve practiced fine art my whole life, in my spare time as well as officially (though without the degree to show for it).
Although once I entertained the idea of being an architect, I realized my true passion was in the freedom and ingenuity of Industrial Design, I have been fever-struck for almost a year now, spending my time out of college as an art teacher. ID is something I’ve always unconsciously been in tune with. my art projects always craved the notion of a function and general aesthetic appeal. I’ve doodled and dreamed ideas for products since I was a young boy, not realizing where I was reaching.
Here is my concern, however. It is the reason I sit here biting my lip, 6 AM and still haven’t fallen asleep :open_mouth:. As I try to cross into the ID field I find myself anxious and discouraged. Seems that a lot of design programs don’t even want to see a portfolio from applicants with non-ID-undergraduate degrees. Some just plain don’t even want to see me.
What is left for them to judge but my grades and test scores? I feel like despite good grades, good GRE, I will be stiffed without the weight of a relevant portfolio and the undergraduate degree the other applicants are sure to have. Even in my drive to be a part of a good program outpaces many, I just don’t see what would convince a graduate program of just that. I have artwork, but when I construct a 3d model of an automobile idea, for example, it dawns on me that I have no idea how to even go about doing it …correctly. i have no idea how to appeal to those within the field, particularly academics.