state of the design industry in the uk?

hello everyone,

I am a recent graduate, currently on an internship in europe. This finishes in the fairly near future and then it is likely that I will be looking for work back in the uk, probably London. What Im wondering/worried about is the job market situation there as a result of the financial problems and whether there are actually any junior industrial/product design jobs to be had.

what are your thoughts/experiences on the current state of design in the uk and how it is being affected by the credit crunch?

cheers,
C

It’s very hard at the moment, especially in the south. For most of the jobs you will be looking at working in the Midlands or up north - the few places in London all seem to be looking for Senior level designers at the moment. The other problem is that many of the bigger companies seem to be placing a freeze on recruitment. I had an interview with an international company with a design office in London, the interview went well and I got great feedback but between the interview and any decision being made a recruitment ban has been enforced over the whole company. Needless to say there is now no job for me.

My best advice is to be really flexible about where you live (I wanted to stay in Brighton to stay with my partner - after six-months I have faced up to the fact that this probably wont be possible if I want to get a job), and to approach companies directly - walk in with your portfolio if necessary.

I’ve decided to pack in the job search for a while and go traveling. Fingers crossed that the job situation may be better when I get back!

I think there are jobs out there but you might have to think a bit broader in terms of roles and company’s to go approach, like look towards packaging, exhibition, interaction design.

keep an eye on design week and other job web sites along with contact some company’s you want to work for directly.