Spheres, cones and such..

First of all, excuse my english… I’ll do my best to articulate clearly.

I’m a freshman ID student in Finland, with woodworking background and already I’m thinking about ideas for my degree work.
Apparently I’m constantly wondering (well, it’s more like subconscious meditation) about different concepts for speakers. Having built a pair of boring black boxes of MDF, I want to take things to the next level.

From what I understand, a drop like shape (like the B&W Nautilus pictured below) is, soundwise more or less the optimum for a speaker enclosure. Spheres are also good, as are cones. I spent 4 hours yesterday searching online for manufacturers of hollow balls, and I actually even found some, one of which stated:

Our balls all have roundness, polishing, extreme precision. Now we have our own brand “GoldenBall” and also do OEM for worldwide famous brand. Our balls are accepted all over the world.

That’s just confidence inspiring.

However, I didn’t quite find what I was looking for (yet), so the DIY’er that I am, I naturally started thinking how to make these shapes myself. I’m thinking fiberglass is the way to go, but greener material options would be welcome (yes, a block of wood and a CNC lathe came to mind). Different plastics, or aluminum are also an option, just materials that are easy to work with.

Basically I’m just looking to learn more about the subject and to possibly implement industrial production methods to my own…
Any input and advice on techniques, information resources etc. are welcome.

-Yours truly

You get the idea…

diyaudio.com forum has alot of discussion from people doing same as you, some tips I remember reading:

pair of wooden salad bowls
stainless steel bowls
Ikea bowl hacks
bowling balls

Hi Pier.

Thanks!
I’m a pretty frquent visitor of the diyaudio.com forums. There’s loads of information up there and I tried, really tried, to find some tips on the subject but found nothing relevant.