Sophmore ID portfolio

Hi everyone. So I just switched into Industrial Design this year from New Media Design (digital art and websites mostly). This is my first year in the program at RIT, and I was hoping to get some feedback on the work I’ve put together so far. I know that it’s still pretty digital media dependent; will this harm, help, or really not matter? Thanks for your time!

http://www.krop.com/pelovitz/

Bump

Anyone? :frowning:

Nice sketches!

Jordan, my first thought is that it feels a bit disjointed. First I had to figure out how to use the site, then it starts with some 3d work, I started to get eager in the motion 3d simulator thing, but it didn’t pay off with a polished design, some rough blue foam models and then some robo bugs… right now it feels like a series of exercises rather than a cohesive portfolio… keep building that body of work.

It is indeed a series of exercises…:frowning: Thanks for the help though, hopefully next year I’ll be able to get more into long projects (I should have a good one at the end of my summer job).

As for the simulator; yea we didn’t have quite enough time to finish it. Still, pretty good considering it was scratch built in 2 months by me and one other guy. :slight_smile:

Thanks for the advice.

I hear you. A couple of polished rendering of the simulator with details and a page visually explaining what it is for would make that a nice project vs a piece of one… I’m sure you could carve out some time this summer for that!

OK so I wrote up a bunch about issues I have with the design/hierarchy of the website, then I realized it’s a portfolio service, so it wasn’t your fault.

#1: I’d switch sites. This Krop service is pretty terrible, and seems to be more suited toward graphic/photographic art showcase rather than ID.