Solidworks: Correct Workflow For Modeling An Assembly?

Hi, I’m fairly new to SW and would like to know the best way to model a product comprised of various parts. I’m modeling without drawings so it’s a bit difficult to model each part in a separate file and for them to perfectly match up when assembled.

What I’ve been thinking is to model the basic block form as one part and then to use the split tool to split off the various parts. The parts would then be brought into an assembly where each part can be worked on individually whilst keeping the other parts visible in ghost mode.

Is this a good way to go about it or are there better methods?

that’s a pretty good workflow. Especially with organic forms. You’ll find that with 10 people, you’ll hear 11 ways to to do it.

When I’m feeling really lazy or in a rush, or just doing for rendering, I’ll work on everything in 1 part file by keeping the different “parts” as separate bodies. SW lets you have multiple bodies in a single part file. At the end, everything can still be broken out as different part files, then re-organized as a proper assembly.

Well, I’m going to sound like a boring teacher, but to start off trying to run before you can walk is never a good idea. :smiley:

I’m going to give you a tip, but first I think you might be missing a vital piece of workflow information regarding Solidworks:

The “convert entities” tool. This essentially lets you go into any sketch of any feature and “borrow” it for your new sketch.

With this, you never need to “match up” your different parts, because they will always be positioned “in place” (when you make a new part, and Solidworks asks you where to position it, just click the front plane of the assembly, and then cancel the current sketch and create a new one wherever you like, even on a plane from another part).

But ok, now for the tip, but remember, this is a quick and slightly dirty way: