Sole design

Hi

I’ve been a footwear designer for about 7 years working on casual and formal footwear but one area I have not spent a great deal of time perfecting is sole design, namely producing a blueprint.

Can any one give me any advice on a good source to learn this.

Are there any web sites or books that give advice on this, i’m sure i must not be the only person who requests advice on this.

Please help.

scott wills

scott@freelancefootweardesign.co.uk

Scott_ I would be surprised if you find much online, but it is pretty straight forward, especially in lifestyle. Essentially combining basic drafting (orthographics, projections, sections, dims) with footwear best practices (rubber and foam thicknesses, last draft, traction patterns, flex zones, construction types [vulc, cold cement…]). Typically they don’t have to be all that dialed in. I just make sure my last draft is correct, my thicknesses are accurate, side walls have enough bonding margin, and key design detailes are measured. From here the factory should be able to send back a really dialed detailed BP (blueprint) for you to review and redline.

One easy way to start is to ask the factory if they have a BP of a shoe with the same construction on the same or similar last. If they can give you that, you have a great template to start from.

Some basic drafting and architectural drawing books are great to have around as well to see how they dimension things up and draw sections.

Thanks yo, thats a great piece of feed back.

If any one reading this would like to post any examples of sole design layouts that would be a great help.

Great site run by two great designers.

Thanks

Scott

It’s one of those dark arts that they don’t teach you…

I was lucky enough to be coached by a certain Mr Brambilla (ex of Clarks, back then he was at Lacoste and is now at Merrell?)

Things I have learned.

You really, really should get the last as it’s more difficult to get it right without one.