So I go to SCAD...

And I’m constantly asking if this is the right place to be.

I’m currently a freshman in their ID program. Second quarter too, so not too far in. Yet, i’m constantly asking myself whether or not I chose the best place for me to go. I loved the city, and I loved the facilities, (I tolerate the students but that’s a different story). But, for the life of me, I don’t know how much this will do for my future.

Coming out of high school, I had a 3.6 senior year with stellar teacher comments and a great essay to boot. However, not a single person in the counseling department had helped a student find a design school… even further, not a single person in the entire school seemed to know what Industrial Design even was. To add even more problems, I didn’t have a portfolio (and certainly not enough time to scrounge one up) so my choices were rather limited.

However, I do have a portfolio now, and fantastic grades (I’m maintaining a 4.0). So, my question is, is this the best place to go? Hell, I’ll drop the criteria even, is this a good place to go?

Yes, I know ID is all about the portfolio. A person with no formal training and a fantastic portfolio will tend to beat out a person with tons of degrees and titles with a good portfolio. However. I still have to wonder, could I do better things elsewhere?

Oh, and as a bit of a postscript… This is just standard paranoia. I really haven’t seen any reason to question SCAD as a school itself. My art has tremendously increased in quality in a relatively short period of time. However, due to lack of experience in the field (especially in ID) I’m curious if this place is worth the expense or if my tuition money could be put to better use elsewhere.