Sleepless in San Francisco> rendering? inspiration? etc..

So i just moved to San Francisco from NYC this past October. Rent is covered. I have a cool job designing whatever custom furniture/mansions i want for millionaires. i live in an ideal neighborhood. But i am “design” depressed. Here are my dilemmas:

1. My true passion is Industrial Design, and my life goal is to make it into your “typical” San Fran ID firm (i.e. Smart, Frog, Lunar, IDEO, Method, etc.) I am a Product Design graduate, however my past 3 yrs. post-grad experience has been working for top high-end architects (how did that happen?..) I feel like i’m a designer stuck in the wrong field, can’t get out, but shouldn’t be complaining. What ID portfolio reviewer is really going to pay attention to my architectural experience anyway?

2. I’m trying to get out of the shadow of my senior thesis project from school- which has been hugely successful and great, yet pretty much the only major “Industrial Design” portfolio achievement i’ve made in a long time.

3. I am trying to get inspired to get my Industrial Design portfolio updated. I’m having difficulty finding any local courses for Alias, SolidWorks, Rhino, etc. (my rendering skills are really rusty), or any “continuing education” courses in ID in San Francisco.

4. After being rejected by “the big San Fran firms” when applying as a resident of NYC, i need a little morale booster. So i’m trying to find the best portfolio examples/ advice geared toward the firms above to help/inspire me to generate new ideas and products.

5. Where is the ID community here? I’m ready to network…

Any thoughts on any of the above? Help a sista out! :neutral_face:

Start by leading us to your online portfolio so we can better gauge our advice.

ok- I was hoping not to post this until i get my act together, but here it is:

www.sondrafranceslaw.com

password: law0207