sketchy experience in portland

Sorry in advance for the written novel!

Now that this recent fiasco is over I can post my story to hopefully evoke some insight. Currently I am an ID in the midwest and have been for 6 months since I graduated. three weeks ago I contacted a company in Portland OR, in response to a Coroflot posting. They liked my work and were interested in having me for an interview. I flew out at my expense. It went really well and I recieved a call the next day. They welcomed me as a new member of the team and explained the salary and benefits package etc. They then made it clear that my start date would have to be talked about, but regardless welcome aboard. Excited I immediately put in my two weeks and cancelled a lease in which I was supposed to move in the day of my interview. I spoke with them over the phone many times in which they were very short and seemed to dodge my questions about relocation cost and a fulltime written contract. They needed me right away and asked if I could come out sooner than two weeks. I said OK and could make it out a week sooner than my end date at the current job. The were thrilled and said see ya monday. I again had to ask, does this entail a fulltime written contract when I get out there. Finally a response. NO not until next week when we should know about a potential client. I said in that case I would personally feel more comfortable waiting to move all the way out until you know that you have a future need for me and can offer contractual agreements. They said OK and we’ll contact you next week. That was last week and still no response. At this point my two weeks is up and have decided to stay with my current company. They welcomed me back with no hard feelings.

Is this typical of small firms working project to project? I can now see why designers use HR people. As you can imagine I feel a little down because I
lost the opportunity to start at a firm with projects that I’m really into.