sketching

im a student designer. im working on a project right now and in an ideation stage. i know all designers hit blocks like this at some point (i hope its not just me), where sketching seems impossible and you cannot sketch for the life of you.

i mean im a decent sketcher, but its not my best ability. just thinking about my portfolio and how im going to present my sketches makes every line i put down that much less confident. i need to not think like that, hehe.

so to professionals out there, can you give me some advice about this matter? i know it varies depending on where you work, but what would be my best bet, should work frantically on my sketches, or put in an average effort into my sketches but try to highlight my better skills and my thought process throughout the presentation of work?

from my experience talking to professionals, they always say sketches are definitely important to show.

To be honest, I don’t think what you are asking makes any sense…

To get a job in ID you need to have GREAT skills, not only because it shows you sketch well, but it shows you’ve spent years perfecting that skill. So if you feel your sketching isn’t great, do something about it; practise and try various mediums. Make every ability your best ability, it’ll make your life a lot easier when you’re job hunting.

Regarding the ‘sketching block’, everyone gets it, it’s always hard to go from research stage into concept generation/ideation sketching, but once you start it’ll fire out, and then the problem will be stopping yourself.

Post an image if you are really that concerned and you’ll get some great criticism and tips etc. That’s the beautiful thing about Core77!

I understand what you are saying I think. The thought of each sketch going into your portfolio is making you freeze up? It becomes an intimidating mind f*ck?