side businesses while you work for a company?

A lot of designers run a parallel business to their “day job”. For example: A Nike employee had a furniture brand on the side, etc.

How does your current employer feel about this? Are there any conflicts of interest? Can anyone open a side business as long as you’re not ripping off your current company?

Keep the two as completely seperate entities. Don’t tell your corporate boss how well your freelance work is going and don’t tell your freelance clients you don’t need their work because you’ve got a day job.

I’ve been helping to run my own company for the past 8 years, as well as doing a large amount of freelance web design and my primary employers have never heard about it - and if they have it was in a limited scope.

If you’re doing something design related that could be considered a conflict of interest - or something you’re doing work for on corporate time, then it becomes a big problem. In cases where that comes true its not uncommon for you to recieve a non compete agreement or being shown the door in cases like that.

if by hummel designer, you mean me, i started my consultancy after leaving hummel.

R

Don’t give details, but be honest about it. You don’t want to get fired for ‘secretly’ running your own business, when they find out after a couple of years.

If you are running a parallel business in a different demographic I have no issues with it. If you’re running a consultancy on the side that is in direct competition to your employer that is wrong. Biting the hand that feeds you.

A Nike employee doing furniture is not an issue. But Richard did it right by waiting until he leaves a shoe company to design shoes.

At times there is a fine line. Working for a consultancy and helping friends with some design work is one thing. But working in parallel with the intention of being competition in the future is not cool.

rkuchinsky
whoops. my bad.