Senior Project

Hey all,

I am in my first semester of senior year and on Co-op. I’ve got two more semesters to go…

Before the end of last semester the professor for senior studio gathered the class all together and told us to start thinking about our senior project. The first day of next semester we declare what we want to do and then the research starts. I am supposed to have 3 ideas with a little research done already, I can’t really think of what makes a good senior project…

I have a few questions to throw out there for you, to help get me thinking what makes a good topic.

What are some of the more successful senior projects that you have seen, and why were they successful?

What are some of the more interesting ones that you have seen? Were they successful or not? How come?

What was your senior thesis project?

You gotta give to get.

What are you interested in? What are the more interesting project you have seen (look at any coroflot portfolio and i’m sure you’ll find some.

I am supposed to have 3 ideas with a little research done already

…and what have you found?

R

I suppose I could have given a little more:

My main Interest is design, and the next runner up would be photography…

I have seen quite a few and been tearing through coroflot like a mad man trying to find something that makes me really think, “WOW”… But I can’t find it. Ive seen projects done in:

Transportation - Urban, green, single/ multiple persons
Green Design- (how can anything be designed w/o this in consideration?)
Furniture- Some really interesting entire room systems/ modularity
Cell Phones/Electronics- Most of the new ones I have been seeing are just iphones all over again.
Footwear- Anyone can design a shoe!! (Ok I’m just kidding here… My last co-op was a New Balance. I know that there is a ton that goes into footwear) Is it what I want to do my senior thesis on??