Seeking Professionals' Advice:

I would like some professional advice on my career path from designers out in the industry. I graduated with an ID degree with a fashion background and have been in the footwear industry for over six years now, consistently designing in-line footwear products with heavy involvement in development.

After being with my current company over 3 years, I decided to seek other opportunities, but seem to have difficulty finding opportunities and landing a good job. I’ve worked with several large to small known recruiting firms, the first response when I send my teaser package & resume to them is "really great stuff, I will get back to you with good news"and never hear from them again. When I do deal with companies directly, it’s almost the same thing although I did go on two interviews and was told the same thing and again, haven’t heard back from them and get dodged when trying to follow up or claim that they have put a hold on the position. It sounds silly at first, but after numerous times this gets a bit frustrating and I start to lose confidence in what recruiters or potential employers say.

This leads me to wonder if others experience the same where people are saying only nice comments (not negative at all) and kind of lead you on and then never hearing from them again or saying their “putting a hold on a position”. I understand the US economy isn’t doing too well, but is that the real reason why I’m not landing anything?

I’ve been impress to see members giving good criticism and feedback on this blog in recent months, while other blog sites comments are harsh, unwarranted, and unreasonable and get sidetracked onto other subjects. So after many countless times submitting resume and packages and feeling misled, I figured, I’d reach out to others in the industry wondering if anyone can relate to what I’m going through or have any suggestions. Thank you.