Seeking advice for negotiating sale of design to a company

I am currently working with a company to sell my chair design to them. They are enthusiastic about it, they have prototyped some of them already, and they are eager to move forward with it. The stumbling block at the moment is the contract.

Overall the majority of the contract is reasonable:

• 3% Royalties based on their wholesale price to purchasers

• 2% “Finder’s Commision” if I find a new buyer who purchases the chair from them for sales.

• Monthly Royalty payments (delivered up to 60 days after closing of sales though)

The NEGATIVES:

• They want to place a cap on my Royalty Earnings at $75,000 per year.

• They want to only pay me Royalties for 5 Years.

This is my first attempt at selling a design, and coming directly out of college I am greatful for it and willing to compromise on my part to make it happen, but I also don’t want to get screwed over. Lighting doesn’t strike often, and I want to make sure that I get the most out of this opportunity.

That being said, has anybody had here had some experience with negotiating such a contract for selling a design?

If so, do you feel the cap and the time span for paying Royalties is reasonable, or what should I expect as a baseline?

Thanks.

that sounds like a pretty standard agreement to me!

Usually, royalties are anywhere from 2-5%.

I’d push them on the ‘lifetime’ thing, and perhaps on the ‘yearly’ thing as well. I think they may be trying to push that on you since you’re right out of school.

That being said, I have known of some companies to completely reneg royalty agreements when they realize how much they are actually going to pay out to the designer! It seems like they have realized this up front, and have some experience with it…

Why not ask for minimum if they want to put on a cap? That way you know they will try to sell it and not let it sit around with no sales support!