Schools with good balance of ID/Liberal Arts?

Hi all,

I’m a junior in high school and am just beginning to think about what schools to apply to. I’m looking to pursue Industrial Design, but I’m also hoping to find somewhere where I could study liberal arts alongside ID. I’ve looked into a few ID programs, namely Cincinnati and Art Center, but neither of them seem to offer much in the way of liberal arts.

Anyone have any suggestions on what schools to look into?

Thanks,
Ben

Hi Ben,

I’m currently a student at UC and it is very possible to take a wide variety of liberal arts classes. Your design coursework will take a lot of energy but there is time to study other interests. I know a lot of people who are minoring in marketing or some other area of study. I transferred into UC after having done two years at another college and am going to be coming out with three majors. That probably won’t be possible since you are coming directly from high school, but the school is very willing to work with you.

It is a state school: some of the intro courses are pretty boring, but once you get into the 300 level courses they become much more interesting. I really am pleased with my decision to come to UC.

As to other schools… When I was researching colleges, RISD was an interesting option because it has reciprocation with Brown. It’s possible to take courses at Brown while majoring at RISD. There’s also a dual degree program (which is insanely competitive) in which you can get a degree at RISD and get a bachelors from Brown. I’m sure there are a lot of options out there, especially at larger universities that aren’t purely art schools.

I hope this helps.
mo

I went to Parsons and in terms of Liberal Arts I really can recommend it.
Since it belongs the to New School, an enormous university, you are open to take a very wide variety in terms of liberal arts. It’s location in NYC helps to gather a broad faculty on a high level.