schooling and career

I want to become an industrial designer. I am currently a University student.
I’m thinking of different ways that I could get into this field.
How about doing an Fine Arts undergrad and Masters in ID? Will that give me a job?

… nothing is going to GIVE you a job in ID, there are no garauntees…

but doing a BFA and then earning a MID is certainly a good path. Why not just undergrad in ID though?

Because it might actually take me less time to do both FA undregrad and ID Masters then doing an ID undergrad.

Right now I’m in Econ undergrad, but I’m taking some FA courses. I’m graduating in Aug 06, so I’ll probably be able to get advanced standing in FA program (more likely then in ID program at other schools) My idea is to try to finish FA program in 2 yrs after I graduate from Econ, then do a one yr Masters ID. Just trying to think of the best path for me to become an IDer… There is the time (especially for a female) and money issue…

Do you know of any good Master ID programs? I should contact the ppl there to ask is an FA undergrad will get me into the program…
Thanks

Faster isn’t allways better…actually it rarely is.

agree with yo.

faster isn’t always better… how true!

the more i try my hardest to break into ID industry ( graduated in 03, and
now trying and trying to land my dream job…), the more painfully i realize
there is no faster way…you just gotta take one day at a time.

don’t look for the short cut. Look for what will get you trained properly.

it is a competitive profession.
without the skillsets, 1or 2 internships, and your own unique way of
problem solving, you are just left with a piece of paper that says you were an id major…

I strongly agree.